On assignment: Corporate headshot

I have been assigned to shoot two executives from a well-known paint brand here in Dubai UAE. For head shots, it’s a must to make it look as natural as possible. We want them to be recognized as the person they really are and not the person you want them to be in photoshop.

I have lots of gear at my disposal but I prefer working minimally. Shot this with a 85 1.8 and a nifty fifty. Since there’s an abundance of natural window light, i used a reflector to lighten up the shadows of the face brought by the window light from the side. I chose to place her on a white background (white wall) in order to see the separation of the subject due to her dark hair.

Image

Camera: D700
Lens:85
Shutter speed: 1/180s
Aperture: f4
ISO: 400

Here’s the lighting diagram:
Image

Here’s the other executive shot with a nifty fifty. This time I chose a dark background in order to see the separation of my subject and BG. I needed her to sit as well since she’s taller than me and shooting at a lower angle from your subject isn’t really pleasant to look at.

Image

Camera: D700

Shutter speed: 1/45s

Aperture: f4

ISO: 200

Lighting diagram

Image

There are million ways to light a head shot. I just prefer mine to be minimal, simple and quick as corporate people doesn’t have the luxury of time and they need to get back to work ASAP. Total time  spent for this session: 20-30 MINUTES.

Leave a Reply

