Hobby vs Profession, and How To Get Back the MOJO

I started photography as a hobby. Documenting things that slowly unravel in this journey called life. I enjoyed it. As a hobbyist, you get to control a lot of things, from your subject, how you shoot it and how the image will become. The freedom and control of photography is in your hands. If I have a choice, I would like photography to still be a hobby. I still want to have control over my craft.

This is where the importance of shooting what love comes in. IF you are shooting images that excites you , you will attract clients that wants your vision and art . People will hire you to shoot what you love and there is no greater joy than being paid doing the things that excites you.

But before you get to this level, you must shoot A LOT! 100,000 images is only the start. Because you also need to spend 10,000 hours to get your craft into the world, 10,000 more hours to speak to clients, learn and improve on your skills, etc. It takes a lot of time and practice.

(Shot this image for editorial purposes to promote their shop. When I asked the client if she has seen images that i do, she said NO. I was only referred by her friend (previous client). I felt sad that I wasn’t hired because of my artistic vision but happy enough that my client refers me to other people. I guess it’s a start.)
( I choose clients based on what they want and how I can deliver that image to them. If I can’t deliver what they need, I just pass it to another photographer whom I know will be a good match to what they are looking for.)

As a profession, I’m having a hard time going back shooting images that excites me. I do shoot events, but there’s no creativity in doing events, (let’s admit it) we do it only for the money. Since we’re starting out, it’s the bread and butter of what we do. IF you’re hired to shoot commercial work, there are other creatives over your shoulder trying to get what they want into your images. They have their own requirements for the photos. Your vision becomes limited to what your client wants. It’s hard to get the right clients to hire you for who you are as an artist.

This is a personal project collaborated with a model looking for YOGA photos. more photos of this set HERE

My solution to get back your mojo would be seen in the value of PERSONAL PROJECTS. Consider personal projects as something that excites you as an artist. Even if you’re not paid to do it(sometimes, money even comes your pocket), You would be excited to do this stuff. Motivated to see it to the end. I keep my personal projects on things that excites me. I feed the artist in me with concepts and ideas then collaborate it with other creative people who has the same artistic needs as I have.

Life is short. Do what you love and do it often.

4 thoughts on “Hobby vs Profession, and How To Get Back the MOJO

  1. I agree, personal projects keep you fresh. It also seems to me that prospects like to see photographers personal and experimental projects. It’s kinda like a view behind the scenes of the photographers personality.

    Rosh

  2. This could of been written by me ! agree completely… and do regain my MOJO by doing my personal projects 🙂 planning a few of them now for the winter (slow) months. Can’t wait!

    1. Yes, Personal projects keep us sane. It’s a way to feed the artist in me. Clients telling you what to look for in an image gives creativity barriers which becomes your limiting factor. Rarely will you get clients who will give you the money and shoot what you want (i just love clients like this) and return with great images.

      Even on those busy days, I strive to shoot personal projects just to keep my creativity flowing.

Leave a Reply

