Coron Palawan, Philippines

A 3 day stay in Palawan just to relax after all the things we’ve done for our wedding. At first, I wanted to go back to Dubai right after the wedding in order to get back into the photography business to collect payments from clients (yes, this is a pain no matter where you are).  It’s good that I listened to my wife and told me it’s best to rest before going back to all the hustle of my cutthroat photography world.

So a day after the wedding, we flew to Palawan, a 45 mins flight from Manila via local airline. Dear camera freaks, please prepare your gear as you’ll get to see a good shot of clouds and an aerial view of the  islands before reaching Busuanga, Coron airport.
PALAWAN-4PALAWAN-5PALAWAN-7

PALAWAN-8PALAWAN-9

We’ve booked Club Paradise hotel which takes 15 minute drive, then a 30 minute boat ride from the airport.

PALAWAN 10PALAWAN 11

Once you reach the hotel, you’ll be greeted by a welcoming acoustic band.

PALAWAN 12

At the hotel lobby, you can play chess, billiards or table tennis.

PALAWAN 14PALAWAN 15

Club Paradise hotel is on a private island with limited number of guests which makes this place perfect to relax and unwind.

PALAWAN 24

PALAWAN-21PALAWAN 79

A pool open for 24 hours.

PALAWAN 80PALAWAN-17

PALAWAN 16

Let’s talk about food. I was looking forward to have some delicious seafood since I’m on an island but unfortunately the hotel didn’t serve the best seafood. I also took a photo of the menu list in case you’re wondering how much things are in that hotel. 500 ML water is at 12 AED/ $4. Remember this is an isolated island where everything needs to be transported from mainland Palawan. Add all the costs of delivery and manpower needed so this is just fair for the price. Also, water is served in the lobby of the hotel in case you don’t want to spend for just water. PALAWAN-23
PALAWAN 75

PALAWAN 74

PALAWAN 28

PALAWAN 27

PALAWAN 84
old school oven called “Pugon”
PALAWAN-30
noon time sky

Let’s talk about the Fauna. The first thing you’ll notice once you get to the island are trees that are black from afar but once you get closer they’re actually bats. Fruit bats measuring up to 3-4 feet wide. Tada dada dada dada dada BATMAN!

PALAWAN 44PALAWAN 45

PALAWAN 60Caught one in action (below). used my 85mm lens. I wish I brought my 70-200 as it will be perfect for this kind of subject.

135

The image above is already cropped to almost 100%. Thanks to the sensor of the a7r2 as we can still see details in the image.

Then there’s a swamp. At first, I thought crocodiles are living in the area or pythons/anacondas. Yikes!

PALAWAN 48PALAWAN 49PALAWAN 50

The image below looks like an anaconda from a far, good thing the hotel staff told us there’s only monitor lizards in the area and not large snakes or Crocodiles. This looks tiny in pictures. PALAWAN 62

It’s actually around 4-5 feet in length. I wanted to get closer but this is the closest I can get or else they start running to the opposite direction. A longer lens could have been better to capture the lizard up close.

PALAWAN 63PALAWAN 64PALAWAN 65

There are several birds in the area. They say Palawan is an Ornitholigist’s Paradise and on this island alone these are the birds I’ve seen.

PALAWAN 51

ABOVE. White-vented Shama

BELOW. look for the white egret.

PALAWAN 52PALAWAN 55_1

below. look for the Asian Glossy Starling.  There’s actually 2 birds, can’t decipher which bird is on the left.

PALAWAN 56

below. Black-naped Oriole

PALAWAN 61

I’ll definitely be back in Palawan with a longer lens just for bird watching.

There’s a lot of activities within the island alone so we skipped all the tours since this trip is just to relax and unwind. According to divers, there are turtles but unfortunately, I haven’t seen one in the island. You need to go diving in order to see one.

PALAWAN-22PALAWAN-35

I’ve done snorkeling, kayaking and hiking too. I’ve got no pictures for snorkeling and kayaking since I don’t have a water housing/a gopro on this trip so I was only able to document the hiking we’ve done. It’s only a small trail but the view is worth the hike.

PALAWAN-69

PALAWAN 66_1PALAWAN 67PALAWAN 68_1

This is the view on one of the stops through trail.

We needed to rush to the top as the clouds look heavy with rain. In order to get to the viewing deck, we needed to climb a tiny flight of stairs. I think dwarves created this flight of stairs as each step is only about 4 inches.

PALAWAN 73

Of course, a mandatory selfie is needed after that trail.

PALAWAN-70

below. Here’s the image. Programmed my camera into panorama mode. So it’s about 10 images stitched together to create a wide image within the camera. I only have a 35mm and it’s not enough to show this awesome sight.

PALAWAN 72

 

I found Moana in Palawan.

PALAWAN-59
MOANA

 

This has been an awesome trip. I’ll probably have one every month if I can. hahaha

PALAWAN-41PALAWAN-43
A heavy rainfall greeted us on the way back to the airport.

PALAWAN 81
Things to ponder: “Failures, successes and in-betweens”
PALAWAN 85
looks like a scene from one of those piranha horror movies
PALAWAN 86
One of the flights back to Cebu was canceled

PALAWAN 87PALAWAN 88

PALAWAN 90
cotton candy

PALAWAN-26

GEAR: Sony Alpha 7rm2, FE 35mm 1.4, Carl Zeiss 85mm 1.8
Total expense for this trip: $821 excluding airfare

Thank you for reading my blog. Feel free to like my post, leave a comment and subscribe. This one is about travel but the next couple of posts will be about photography. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

